User avatar
Scherub
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: 06 May 2014, 20:53
Contact:

Image artifacts

22 Dec 2017, 02:30

After quite some time I started experimenting on one of my projects again. To be able to do that I had to update Unity (v2017.2) and NoesisGUI (v2.1.0b4). Unfortunately my icons have weird artifacts now and I guess it has something to do with the Unity settings of my image atlas. Since the settings have changed from the last Unity version I know of, I would like to know which settings I have to choose now, since none of my attempts brought the expected result.
 
nokola
Posts: 186
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 05:29

Re: Image artifacts

22 Dec 2017, 05:30

Likely you have to premultiply the alpha for your icons. See more info here:
http://www.noesisengine.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1036&p=5850&hilit=premultiplied#p5850
 
User avatar
Scherub
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: 06 May 2014, 20:53
Contact:

Re: Image artifacts

22 Dec 2017, 13:35

Thanks for your reply. The strange thing is that they should already have a premultiplied alpha as this was already an issue in previous NoesisGUI versions and as I mentioned already it worked before. So my guess was it has something to do with the new Unity version. Anyway, I'll just re-export my image atlas and see whether that fixes my problem.
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: Image artifacts

22 Dec 2017, 13:43

The big change since NoesisGUI v2.0 is that now we use the textures generated by Unity (before that, we were generating textures by ourselves). So it means that all the settings in the Unity texture exporter are being used, probably you are using texture compression and that could explain the artifacts you are observing.
 
User avatar
Scherub
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: 06 May 2014, 20:53
Contact:

Re: Image artifacts

22 Dec 2017, 14:40

I just re-exported my image atlas with TexturePacker again, made sure Alpha Handling is (still) set to 'Premultiply alpha' and the result is still the same. So it is most likely an issue on the Unity settings side. The 'compression' is set to 'None'. I'll just list all the current settings:

Texture Type: Default (tried various others)
Texture Shape: 2D
sRGB (Color Texture): On
Alpha Source: Input Texture Alpha
Alpha is Transparency: On
Read / Write Enabled: Off (tried On as well)
Generate Mip Maps: Off
Wrap Mode: Repeat (also tried clamp)
Filter Mode: Bilinear (also tried point)
Max Size: 1024 (changed it to 512x512 as well, the size of the actual image)
Resize Algorithm: Mitchell (also tried Bilinear)
Compression: None

So what else could I try?
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: Image artifacts

22 Dec 2017, 16:53

Alpha is Transparency: OFF

Could you try that? Also open the 'ControlGallery' sample and see the settings we are using for our Images (first check if the sample works fine in your machine)
 
User avatar
Scherub
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: 06 May 2014, 20:53
Contact:

Re: Image artifacts

22 Dec 2017, 18:28

I thought I tested this setting, too! But it seems I didn't as it fixed my issue. Thank you! :)
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: Image artifacts

22 Dec 2017, 19:04

You welcome! We definitely need to improve the documentation about this.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests