AdamJonsson
Topic Author

Set triggers for changing color of Icon in button

08 Jul 2019, 15:45

Hi!
I'm new to XAML. Not a programmer, but artist/designer.

I need help with XAML-coding of button-template. It's a template which is used to display a button with a transparent background and a icon.
I want to be able to set triggers for the buttons so that the icon changes color when button is pressed.

The icon derives from a resource dictionary and is defined as a ControlTemplate like this:
<ResourceDictionary>
    <ControlTemplate x:Key="home_ic" TargetType="{x:Type Control}">
        <Viewbox>
            <Canvas Width="90" Height="90">
                <Path Fill="{TemplateBinding Background}" Data="F1 M 90.000,90.000 L 0.000,90.000 L 0.000,0.000 L 90.000,0.000 L 90.000,90.000 Z"/>
                <Path Fill="{TemplateBinding Foreground}" Data="F1 M 71.000,39.461 L 71.000,70.674 L 52.800,70.674 L 52.800,49.874 L 37.200,49.874 L 37.200,70.674 L 19.000,70.674 L 19.000,39.474 L 45.000,18.674 L 71.000,39.461 Z"/>
            </Canvas>
        </Viewbox>
    </ControlTemplate>
    </ResourceDictionary>
The button is created like this:
<Button>
  <Control Template="{StaticResource home_ic}" Style="{StaticResource IconStyle_default}" Foreground="#FFFFFFFF" Background="#00FFFFFF"/>
</Button>
The style 'IconStyle_default' is just there to determine the default colors for the icon.

My current ButtonTemplate looks like this:
<ControlTemplate x:Key="ImageButtonStyle" TargetType="{x:Type Button}">
        <Grid x:Name="grid">
            <Viewbox x:Name="Icon_viewbox" Width="Auto" Height="Auto">
                <ContentPresenter x:Name="contentPresenter"/>
            </Viewbox>
        </Grid>
</ControlTemplate>
How do I write a Button template that let's me set different states for the colors of the icon?