Page 1 of 2

[Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 22 Oct 2014, 19:00
by zyzyx
Hi,
I work mostly on AR mobile apps using the vuforia plugin and for the next project I wanted to use NoesisGUI for the gui parts.
Now when I import both plugins and create a new scene with only a camera in it (ARCamera from vuforia) the vuforia webcam feed is white as if the camera is not recognized anymore. As soon as I remove everything related to noesisGUI the camera works again.
I tried creating a fresh project first importing vuforia (camera works) and then noesis (camera works only the first time).
I'm using noesis 1.1.12, vuforia 3.0.9 and Unity 4.5.5p1.
Any ideas what could be the cause of this issue?

Re: [Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 22 Oct 2014, 20:11
by sfernandez
Is vuforia a native plugin?
Is it correctly initialized when NoesisGUI is installed?
How does it render the webcam into the screen?

Re: [Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 23 Oct 2014, 01:47
by jsantos
We fixed several problems regarding compatibility with other native plugins in the past. The API offerered by Unity is not very straightforward. If Vuforia is not working properly when NoesisGUI is active it probably could be a problem in Vuforia itself. First thing I would do is sending the project to the Vufofia team so that they can debug it. We are open to cooperation here.

Re: [Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 23 Oct 2014, 10:06
by zyzyx
Thanks for your quick responses!
Yes vuforia is a free augmented reality plugin for unity. I don't know exactly how they render the webcam. I think it has something to do with renderTextures (in Editor/Play mode).
Am I alowed to send a project with noesis in it to the vuforia support?

EDIT: I tested a bit more. So when I import noesis and vuforia into a fresh project and then create a scene with only a camera with the vuforia stuff on it (no noesis panel), it works as long as I don't close unity and reopen it again (after that the image is white again).

Re: [Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 23 Oct 2014, 12:48
by sfernandez
You can send them a project with the NoesisGUI Trial or explain to them they can download from here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=91

About your tests, if you don't add any NoesisGUIPanel component to the camera, our plugin is not loaded. I don't understand how can we interfere with vuforia if our code is not executed.

Re: [Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 23 Oct 2014, 12:50
by zyzyx
Ok that seems very strange, I will have to investigate further.
Thanks!

Re: [Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 23 Oct 2014, 12:55
by jsantos
EDIT: I tested a bit more. So when I import noesis and vuforia into a fresh project and then create a scene with only a camera with the vuforia stuff on it (no noesis panel), it works as long as I don't close unity and reopen it again (after that the image is white again).
Hmm.. Where is vuforia copying its dll? Plugins or Plugins/x86?

Re: [Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 23 Oct 2014, 13:15
by zyzyx
Hmm.. Where is vuforia copying its dll? Plugins or Plugins/x86?
In Plugins. I uploaded an image of the vuforia file structure:
http://i.imgur.com/LMthMG4.png

Here is something strange I found out a second ago:

Before importing noesis:
Image

And after importing noesisGUI and reopening unity:
Image

It seems that somehow vuforia cannot recognize my unity license anymore.

Re: [Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 23 Oct 2014, 13:20
by jsantos
In Plugins. I uploaded an image of the vuforia file structure:
http://i.imgur.com/LMthMG4.png
Could you please try to move .dll files from Plugins to Plugins/x86 ?

Re: [Unity] NoesisGUI and Vuforia Issue

Posted: 23 Oct 2014, 13:41
by zyzyx
Could you please try to move .dll files from Plugins to Plugins/x86 ?
This actually solved it. Thank you very much!