User avatar
ai_enabled
Posts: 221
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 05:28
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

05 Mar 2015, 04:34

How did you solve the "multiple plugins with the same name" problem? Renaming won't work as it references the tbb.dll that can't be renamed.
Unity 5 introduced per-plugin (per-DLL) platforms setting.
Image

I'm using these plugins settings for NoesisGUI 1.2.0 / Unity 5 32-bit / Windows:
Plugins/Noesis.bundle - Standalone Mac OS X x86 x86_64
Plugins/NoesisUnityRenderHook.bundle - Standalone Mac OS X x86 x86_64
Plugins/x86/libNoesis - Standalone Linux x86 only
Plugins/x86/libNoesisUnityRenderHook - Editor + Standalone Linux x86
Plugins/x86/Noesis - Standalone Windows x86 only
Plugins/x86/NoesisUnityRenderHook - Editor + Standalone Windows x86
Plugins/x86/tbb - Standalone Windows x86 only
(I don't use Plugins/x86_x64, so can't tell you settings for that)
Editor/NoesisGUI/BuildTool/Noesis - Editor only
Editor/NoesisGUI/BuildTool/tbb - Editor only
AtomicTorch Studio Pte. Ltd. http://atomictorch.com
 
User avatar
ai_enabled
Posts: 221
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 05:28
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

05 Mar 2015, 05:14

To NoesisGUI team - do you have plans for x64 Editor support? Unity 5 Editor for Mac is only x64...
AtomicTorch Studio Pte. Ltd. http://atomictorch.com
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

05 Mar 2015, 06:45

To NoesisGUI team - do you have plans for x64 Editor support? Unity 5 Editor for Mac is only x64...
Yes, of course. The current state is just temporary. Thanks for helping with your tweaks meanwhile.
 
User avatar
Scherub
Posts: 141
Joined: 06 May 2014, 20:53
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

05 Mar 2015, 10:38

Oh, I didn't know that you have to specify the target platforms now on a DLL basis. But I think that's a good change. Thank you very much for your answer! :)
 
User avatar
ai_enabled
Posts: 221
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 05:28
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

07 Mar 2015, 05:08

Tried OS X game build and was very frustrated - performance is 10 times lower than previous game build (checked twice), absolutely unplayable... Not sure why it happens - it may be faulty Unity 5 or issue with NoesisGUI 1.2.0... And I can't profile it easily as Unity 5 Editor is x64 only on Mac. Will try to install Unity 5 Editor on virtual machine to use remote profiler.
AtomicTorch Studio Pte. Ltd. http://atomictorch.com
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

07 Mar 2015, 05:26

Hmm... could you also check with Unity 4.6 + NoesisGUI 1.2 ?

We are flying back from GDC. We will release a new version of v1.2 fully compatible with Unity 5 (32 and 64 bits) as soon as possible.
 
User avatar
ai_enabled
Posts: 221
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 05:28
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

07 Mar 2015, 05:41

Unfortunately, our project already upgraded to Unity 5.

I was able to profile the game by using remote profiler: (full image on click)
Image
I'm sure the VSync is off and FPS is not limited by limiter.

AFAIK GFX.WaitForPresent means that CPU need to wait for GFX to complete rendering frame.
AtomicTorch Studio Pte. Ltd. http://atomictorch.com
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

07 Mar 2015, 05:50

85% in WaitForPresent?? Really strange... Does it also happen in the main menu? Could you disable the GUI component?

Also, could you profile the windows build?
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

07 Mar 2015, 05:59

What happens if you disable MSAA, does the performance change?
 
User avatar
ai_enabled
Posts: 221
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 05:28
Contact:

Re: Unity 5 plan

07 Mar 2015, 06:24

It happens during gameplay and in Main Menu either.
Windows build seems to not have GFX.WaitForPresent().

I can't disable NoesisGUIPanel, but I have F9 key for toggling UI visibility (it sets Visibility of main LayoutRoot). I've tried it and yes - GFX.WaitForPresent() disappears and performance restored to normal (~140 FPS vs ~10 FPS), game runs very smooth.

MSAA was disabled, enabling MSAA drop the performance a little bit more.

I've sent the link on test build on e-mail.
AtomicTorch Studio Pte. Ltd. http://atomictorch.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest