Rick
Topic Author

Logo Animation

09 Apr 2015, 00:10

Where can I find some examples of playing 2D Animation like at the start of games where it shows the logo's? I have a bunch of individual images that I want to animate. I saw something animating a rect but doesn't seem like it's what I want given my external images to animate.

sfernandez
Site Admin

Re: Logo Animation

09 Apr 2015, 00:32

We have the ImageAtlas example that shows two things:
  • How to use a ResourceDictionary generated with our exporter for TexturePacker (to store a set of sprite images in a single Image Atlas).
  • And how to create an sprite animation using a Storyboard with ObjectAnimationUsingKeyFrames.
Maybe this is what you need.

Rick
Topic Author

09 Apr 2015, 00:58

Man that's pretty verbose.

So your exporter for TexturePacker (which I've never used before) generates all that xaml in your example? I just have to copy and paste it into my xaml I assume?

The Storyboard looks like a ton of text. Is there anything that makes making that easier and more manageable?

sfernandez
Site Admin

09 Apr 2015, 01:43

TexturePacker is just a tool for packing several images into one big image, so you can benefit from rendering from the same texture, which translates to less draw calls and better performance.

Our TexturePacker exporter generates a xaml file that defines a ResourceDictionary with one ImageBrush for each subimage packed in the big texture, just that. You have to merge that dictionary into your xaml file if you want to use it:
<Grid...>
  <Grid.Resources>
    <ResourceDictionary>
      <ResourceDictionary.MergedDictionaries>
        <ResourceDictionary Source="ImageResources.xaml"/>
      </ResourceDictionary.MergedDictionaries>
    </ResourceDictionary>
  </Grid.Resources>
</Grid>
Then, you can use these ImageBrush resources in your own xaml file to fill a Rectangle and draw one of your images.