samc
Topic Author

Data binding data template with a user control

30 Aug 2022, 21:05

I have a data binding question. I have an ItemsControl that is bound to an observable collection of items. My data template has been working fine, but it started to get really big.. So I decided to try to move the contents of the data template into a user control.

Unfortunately, this seems like it breaks all the data bindings. For some reason, the data bindings only work if they are directly inside the data template.
	<UserControl.Resources>
		<ResourceDictionary>
			<DataTemplate DataType="{x:Type local:TeamInventoryItem}">
				<StackPanel>
					<!-- this doesn't work - the view shows up but all the data bindings are broken -->
					<local:TeamInventoryItemView DataContext="{Binding}" /> 
					<!-- this works -->
					<TextBlock x:Name="KeyBinding" Text="{Binding Name}" FontFamily="{StaticResource Font.Family.LeMondeSans}" FontWeight="Bold" FontSize="12" Foreground="#FF00FF" TextAlignment="Center" HorizontalAlignment="Center" VerticalAlignment="Bottom" Padding="4,1"/>
				</StackPanel>
			</DataTemplate>
		</ResourceDictionary>
	</UserControl.Resources>
Is there a way to fix this?

thanks,
sam

sfernandez
Site Admin

Re: Data binding data template with a user control

31 Aug 2022, 21:11

Hi Sam,

It should not be necessary to do DataContext="{Binding}" because the current context is already inherited down the tree.
If you connect the Inspector tool you can see the type of the ViewModel attached as DataContext inside the user control elements for any bound property. Could you check if the datacontext type is correct?

This scenario is very common and should work fine.

samc
Topic Author

01 Sep 2022, 00:51

Ah, that's great to hear that this should be supported! It felt like I was doing something stupid!