jmlg
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 Apr 2017, 09:31

No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

05 Apr 2017, 11:17

I've imported NoesisGUI-2.0.0f1.unitypackage in a new unity 5.5 project, dragged button.asset into camera but button didn't appear when I run the scene. Same thing when I build and run the game. Spent a lot of time trying to change different settings, different version of Unity/NoesisGui, different scenario in the application. I forgot to mention that all the xaml assets stay black In the project view. It's like NO DRAWING are done by noesisGui. Maybe a restriction with the personal edition of Unity ? Maybe a problem with Windows 10 and DirectX 12 ?
 
User avatar
sfernandez
Site Admin
Posts: 1912
Joined: 22 Dec 2011, 19:20

Re: No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

05 Apr 2017, 14:33

Hi,

I'm sorry to say that DirectX12 renderer is not supported yet.
The options available right now are: DirectX11, OpenGL, OpenGL ES and Metal.

We will add the rest of renderers with next versions.
 
jmlg
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 Apr 2017, 09:31

Re: No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

05 Apr 2017, 20:30

thx for your reply but sorry I'm not sure to understand what your mean : I can't use NoesisGui on Windows 10 ????
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2904
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

05 Apr 2017, 22:35

We are yet not compatible with D3D12. You need to switch to D3D11 in Windows.

Sorry for the inconvenience!
 
jmlg
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 Apr 2017, 09:31

Re: No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

07 Apr 2017, 10:01

Thx for your reply.
But If I switch to D3D11 on my windows 10 development machine I want to know approximatively when I'll be able to build a windows 10 compatible application with Unity/NoesisGui.
Sorry for telling that but It is crucial for me to check these points before going further with NoesisGui.
 
User avatar
ai_enabled
Posts: 221
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 05:28
Contact:

Re: No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

07 Apr 2017, 10:21

There is no problem using DX11. It's shipping with Windows 10.
Support for DX12 is not something really necessary.
Thought DX12 support by NoesisGUI is something we could expect really soon - in v2.0 they've refactored the rendering architecture in a such a way that makes an implementation of any new rendering platform (DX12, Vulkan, etc) a quite easy task.
AtomicTorch Studio Pte. Ltd. http://atomictorch.com
 
jmlg
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 Apr 2017, 09:31

Re: No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

07 Apr 2017, 17:31

Thx for yours reply, but I don't understand why NoesisGui is not working on my computer.
 
User avatar
ai_enabled
Posts: 221
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 05:28
Contact:

Re: No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

07 Apr 2017, 18:08

Thx for yours reply, but I don't understand why NoesisGui is not working on my computer.
That's because latest Unity version targets DX12 by default. But DX11 is still good enough (Witcher 3 is running on DX11!). So you need to simply switch to DX11 renderer in the Unity project settings and you're good to go developing your game. The game build will work everywhere - Windows 7, 8 and 10.
If you build only for DX12, the game will work only on Windows 10. It's not supported by Windows 7 and 8 and will never be.
AtomicTorch Studio Pte. Ltd. http://atomictorch.com
 
jmlg
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 Apr 2017, 09:31

Re: No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

10 Apr 2017, 16:27

Thx ai_enabled but unfortunately I already tested dx11 & dx9 settings on my project with exactly the same result : no drawing when I run inside Unity or when I build and run my EXE.
So, if there is no limitation on using NoesisGUI with personal edition of Unity on a Windows 10 machine, so I realy have no chance but what I note from my point of view is that doens't work.
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2904
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: No drawing with noesisgui 2.0.0f1 & Unity 5.5.0f1

10 Apr 2017, 23:18

Does the problem also happen in a clean project and using one of the provided samples? Could you package the result in a zip and paste a link here?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests