sonicviz
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jul 2013, 01:03

Unity Lockup

22 Jul 2013, 03:40

Hi,
I'm just testing the Unity package and having some strange issues.
I'm using latest release of Unity Pro 4.1.5f1 on Win 7 x64.

I imported the NoesisGUI package into a clean new project and it installs ok.
Next, I run one of the examples (any example) and it runs ok, then gradually starts to slow down.
I stop editor play and then Unity is completely unresponsive and I have to kill it with Task manager, but the Temp directory under the unity project is still there and it causes a hang on reopening.
Also Unity just now hangs on the splash screen and the transparency of the splash image is screwed up.
It does not even get to the project select dialog.

Now the weird thing is windows also seems messed up.
If I try and use explorer to just look at My Computer it now hangs.

I have to reboot windows, delete the temp directory in the project and restart.
I've now done this three times, same results.

I looked at the Unity integration video http://www.noesisengine.com/community_f ... &t=91#p545 but it seems the latest build does not follow this as there is no main menu NoesisGUI with settings as described in the video, only down in component menu with no SDK selection as laid out in the video.

This is a bit of a showstopper for me, having to reboot windows!

Any clues?

ty!
 
User avatar
sfernandez
Site Admin
Posts: 1915
Joined: 22 Dec 2011, 19:20

Re: Unity Lockup

22 Jul 2013, 12:14

Hi,

We detected some weird interaction between our plugin and the adb.exe process that Unity launches when you click the Play button.

Can you check your running processes when Unity hangs and tell me if adb.exe is there.
After killing that process, is Unity responding as usual?
 
sonicviz
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jul 2013, 01:03

Re: Unity Lockup

22 Jul 2013, 13:02

Hi,

We detected some weird interaction between our plugin and the adb.exe process that Unity launches when you click the Play button.

Can you check your running processes when Unity hangs and tell me if adb.exe is there.
After killing that process, is Unity responding as usual?
If I open the project with NoesisGUI then run an example, it runs but locks up when I hit play again (to stop editor play).
I checked Task manager and the adp.exe was there, killed it, after a short time Unity responded again.

Now I can run the other examples ok and the adp.exe process does not even appear in task manager, so it seems to have been bypassed?

So seems to be related to the first time it runs?
 
User avatar
sfernandez
Site Admin
Posts: 1915
Joined: 22 Dec 2011, 19:20

Re: Unity Lockup

22 Jul 2013, 13:21

Yes, after the first time you kill adb.exe, Unity won't try to launch that process again. So while Unity remains open you should be able to play/stop scenes without any hassle.

While we discover the source of the real problem this could be a workaround ;)
 
sonicviz
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jul 2013, 01:03

Re: Unity Lockup

22 Jul 2013, 13:49

Yes, after the first time you kill adb.exe, Unity won't try to launch that process again. So while Unity remains open you should be able to play/stop scenes without any hassle.

While we discover the source of the real problem this could be a workaround ;)
Seems related to android?
-> http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/148176 ... the-editor

I don't know why it's launching an android process when the project is set as desktop though.
 
sonicviz
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jul 2013, 01:03

Re: Unity Lockup

22 Jul 2013, 14:39

I just tried it with Unity4.2 official release and behaviour is the same.
 
User avatar
sfernandez
Site Admin
Posts: 1915
Joined: 22 Dec 2011, 19:20

Re: Unity Lockup

27 Aug 2013, 12:51

An user found another way to deal with the adb problem. Here is what he said in Unity forums:
I found an alternate workaround for that adb.exe problem. I've been playing some more with the trial version, and I noticed that if I go ahead and connect an Android device and fire up adb.exe (I did "adb devices" in a command prompt to get the daemon running), then Unity won't keep trying to automatically fire up another one and I don't have to keep killing the "mess everything up" one.

I can close and re-open Unity and it'll still behave properly. Things seem to be more stable in general with NoesisGUI when I do that too.
 
PandaChuZero
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 May 2014, 06:05

Re: Unity Lockup

06 May 2014, 17:03

I just had the same experience with Unity 4.3.4f1 && windows8.1. Killing the adb.exe process after pressing Play resolved the issue for me.

Hopefully bumping this thread will help someone else out who may be evaluating noesis right now.
 
User avatar
jsantos
Site Admin
Posts: 2905
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 17:18
Contact:

Re: Unity Lockup

06 May 2014, 17:40

Thanks for the report!

It seems that the status of this problem in Unity is quite confusing:

http://issuetracker.unity3d.com/issues/ ... db-dot-exe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest