View Issue Details
| ID | Project | Category | View Status | Date Submitted | Last Update |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0004149 | NoesisGUI | Studio | public | 2025-05-12 13:38 | 2026-04-22 18:13 |
| Reporter | dstewart | Assigned To | sfernandez | ||
| Priority | normal | Severity | minor | ||
| Status | assigned | Resolution | open | ||
| Product Version | Studio_Beta | ||||
| Target Version | Studio_Beta | ||||
| Summary | 0004149: Deleting A Template Doesn't Visually Revert An Element To Its Default Template | ||||
| Description | Currently, if you create a Template for an Element, deleting the Template from the Resources will cause the Elements using the Resource to break rather than being 'de-templated'. Although under the hood it has been reverted back to the Default Template for the Element (as visible through the Context Menu's assigned Template), in practice, it just deletes all appearance of the Element in the Page. See attached video. Repro Steps: 1) Create a Project including a MainPage.xaml 3) Right-Click on the Button Element, and navigate to 'Templates', 'Button', then 'Create'. 4) Create the Button Template inside of GlobalResources.xaml 5) Exit the Template by clicking the 'Exit Scope' button in the lower-left of the application Window. 6) Navigate to the Resources Panel, and find, then delete the Button Template created in Step 3)+Step 4). Observe the Button on-Stage collapsing into nothing. 7) Right-Click on the Button Element in the Navigator, and within the 'Templates' then 'Button' sub-context menu, observe how the Template being applied is the '[Button Default]'. Expected Results: | ||||
| Attached Files | |||||
| Platform | Any | ||||
|
I think we don't delete other resource usages when a resource (Brush, Single, etc...) is deleted by our UX decision, so the same rule applies to the templates/styles. The only point I see that needs improving is that we should somehow tell user in the right click context that the button is pointing to a non existing resource. |
|
|
I think you're spot on about what the issue is at the root; its that we are lying to the user telling them its using the 'Default Template' when in fact, its using an 'Absent Template'. Perhaps, in the case of a deleted Template we display in the Context Menu: |
|
| Date Modified | Username | Field | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-05-12 13:38 | dstewart | New Issue | |
| 2025-05-12 13:38 | dstewart | File Added: 2025-05-12 07-37-27.mp4 | |
| 2025-05-12 13:50 | jsantos | Assigned To | => sfernandez |
| 2025-05-12 13:50 | jsantos | Status | new => assigned |
| 2025-05-12 13:50 | jsantos | Target Version | => Studio_Beta |
| 2025-05-12 14:14 | dstewart | Summary | Deleting A Template Doesn't Revert An Element To Its Default Template => Deleting A Template Doesn't Visually Revert An Element To Its Default Template |
| 2025-05-12 14:14 | dstewart | Description Updated | |
| 2026-04-22 17:56 | dfranjic | Note Added: 0012242 | |
| 2026-04-22 18:13 | dstewart | Note Added: 0012243 |